Old friends…

I recently read a book for review from an author I haven’t read in years – Rosemary Rogers. I fell in love with her books back in the 70’s. She was among the pioneers of the epic romance novel. Her heroines were not wimpy simpering women who waited for the hero to rescue them. They had strength of character, spirit and body. They were women who weren’t afraid to go after what they wanted. She put her characters in situations very few of us will ever face, but she gave us a chance to see that even if the odds were against us, we could survive. She and Kathleen Woodiwiss were authors whose books I bought just because of the author’s name. I knew if I purchased a book by Rogers or Woodiwiss, I would enjoy it.

Somehow, over the years, I got away from historical novels. My tastes changed to ones with a more science fiction, fantasy or paranormal touch. The only historicals I read were ones with time-travel as the reason for going back. I grew away from Rogers and leaned more towards Gabaldone, Showalter, and Sinclaire.

Then I picked up “Bride for One Night” by Rosemary Rogers and remembered why I fell in love with her writing (you can read my review at Goodreads). There was adventure, passion, romance, wit, and danger. Since I was reading a pre-pub ARC, there were also some editorial problems, but overall, I thoroughly enjoyed the book. And there were enough threads left dangling that I am sure there will be more books in this particular universe – and I know I’ll be looking for them.

Will I go back to reading historical novels? Probably not on a regular basis, but who knows? I really enjoy my paranormals and will never give them up, but I think going back to a light historical is something I need to do more often. It reminded me why I fell in love with romance novels in the first place. And that’s never a bad thing.

Leave a Reply

